Stowmarket Town FC – PRESENTATION EVENING 23/24

We recently joined together and celebrated the season’s end with an awards night, paying tribute to the outstanding efforts and performances of their First Team, U23 and U18 players. The event was an opportunity for club members, staff supporters and volunteers to come together, and we were privileged to be joined by the Mayor of Stowmarket, Cllr Terence Carter and his deputy, David Child, as well as Ipswich legend Jason Dozell.

We began the event with an introduction by Vice Chairman, Nick Merritt, and closed the evening with a few words from Chairman, Kevin Blundell.

Volunteer Awards.

Our director of football, Andonis Wolverson, presented certificates to a number of people who have volunteered at the club, ensuring they received recognition for their efforts. We are very aware that without volunteers, our club would not exist, so it was important to take time out to celebrate their hard work and dedication.

The awards were as follows:

Platinum – Multi-season while with Isthmian League

  • Vicki Theobald – Stewarding and Former CIC Secretary
  • Nigel Jarvis – Outgoing Director of Infrastructure
  • Ian Moyes – Former Vice-Chair and PA Announcer
  • Chris Brinkley – Car Parking and groundskeeping
  • Tony Brinkley – Posthumous for services to the football club
  • Mandy Smith – Turnstiles
  • Hayden Smith – Turnstiles
  • Paul Hedges – Stewarding
  • Paul Austin – Stewarding
  • Byron Buckle – Stewarding

Gold – 50+ hours while with Isthmian League

  • Kieran Margetson – Club Secretary
  • Ken Burgess – Fundraising
  • Jack Hawkins – Fundraising
  • Andy Horrex – Chair of 1883 Club.
  • Sarah Merritt – Commercial work

This is by all means not an exhaustive list of those that help us – and everyone who gives time to the club was recognised with a huge round of applause!

First Team Awards

We heard from Bart Lorimer and Liam as they summed up our difficult season, and identified the positives we can take from the last 6 months.

  • Dylan Kirk took 2 awards, earning both the online voted “Supporters Player” and “Players Player” titles.
  • Mo Sylla Keita was honoured as the “Manager’s Player of the Season” for his efforts.

U23 Team Awards
The U23’s Manager Craig “Jimmy” Brown took us through the team’s unprecedented treble winning season, to applause from all present.

  • Elliot Ballard took 2 awards, earning both the online voted “Supporters Player” and Top Goalscorer.
  • Jordan Asker was awarded “Manager’s Player”.
  • Will Wharton-Richardson was honoured as “Player’s Player”

U18 Team Awards

Our U18’s manager Shaun Finn walked us through his experiences since taking over the team midway through the season.

  • Alfie Nunn took 2 awards, picking up both the online voted “Supporters Player” and “Player’s Player.”
  • Lewis Barnard was awarded “Manager’s Player of the season”.

Thank you to all who attended!